32.1 C
Thursday, May 23, 2024

Nepal bans entry from 9 countries amid Omicron Fear

Following the global fear of the new Omicron coronavirus, Nepal has decided to shut down nine countries, including Hong Kong.

The cabinet meeting has decided to ban the entry of passengers from and past South Africa, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Namibia, Lesotho, Swaziland, Mozambique, Malawi and Hong Kong.

According to officials, travelers who have traveled to any of these nine countries in the past three weeks will be barred from entering the Himalayan nation.

“As mandated by the cabinet meeting earlier on Monday, new restrictions have been imposed on the arrival of the nine nations. It has been in effect since Friday morning. Home Affairs spokesman confirmed to ANI by telephone.

Nationalists and officials from countries barred from entering Nepal will have to adhere to public health policies that include solitary confinement for one week, the official said.

Following the spread of the new version of COVID Omicron, the government has again asked people not to go abroad until it is necessary. In line with this, it has been compulsory for all government employees to obtain a permit before embarking on a foreign tour.

Many countries have imposed travel restrictions on countries in southern Africa since the change.

New variants of Omicron coronavirus have been confirmed in 23 countries and their numbers are expected to rise, said World Health Organization (WHO) Director-General Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus.

The WHO on Saturday named a new version of COVID-19 B.1.1.529 found in South Africa, as ‘Omicron’. It was first reported to the WHO from South Africa earlier this week.

The epidemiological situation in South Africa is characterized by three different peaks in the reported cases, the most recent being in the Delta, the WHO said in a statement.

This exception has a large number of conversions, some of which are related. The number of such cases appears to be growing in almost every province of South Africa.

Based on the presented evidence showing a dangerous change in COVID-19 epidemiology, the Technical Advisory Group on SARS-CoV-2 Virus Evolution (TAG-VE) advised the WHO that these alternatives should be designated as VOCs, as well as WHO. designated B.1.1.529 as VOC, named Omicron.

Most Popular Articles