36.2 C
Monday, April 22, 2024

Bill to link Aadhaar with ID will be introduced in Lok Sabha today

New Delhi: Modi government will introduce a bill to link voter ID with Aadhaar in Lok Sabha today.

According to the Election Laws (Amendment) Bill, 2021, the Election Registration Officers will have the right to ask for Aadhaar numbers from people who wish to enroll their names as voters in the electoral rolls.

Aadhaar can be sought for authentication of those whose names are already registered in the electoral roll. The Union Cabinet on Wednesday gave its approval to the draft of this bill related to electoral reforms and the government introduced it in the winter session without delay.

The agenda has been set. This step is being taken to prevent duplication and bogus voting in the voter list.

The objective of linking the voter list with Aadhaar is to eliminate the scope of bogus voting by preventing the mistake of enrolling a person in more than one voter list in more than one place.

It is clear in the draft of this bill that the voter card and list will be linked with Aadhaar to prevent bogus voting and duplication in the voter list. As soon as this bill becomes law, this will be an important step towards electoral reforms.

On the other hand, Union Parliamentary Affairs Minister Pralhad Joshi has called a meeting of five parties whose MPs have been suspended for the entire winter session for indecent conduct.

These parties include Congress, Trinamool Congress, Shiv Sena, CPM, and CPI. The meeting will be held in the Library Building of Parliament from 10 am.

Opposition’s strategy discussed in Parliament

Leader of Opposition in Rajya Sabha Mallikarjun Kharge has called a meeting of like-minded parties in the Parliament premises at 10.45 am.

The strategy of the opposition is likely to be discussed in Parliament in this meeting. The winter session of Parliament ends on 23 December.

Significantly, on the first day of the winter session of Parliament, 12 members of various opposition parties, including the Congress and the Trinamool Congress, have been suspended from the Rajya Sabha for the remaining period of this session for indecent conduct during the last monsoon session.

The members who have been suspended include Ilamaram Karim of CPI(M), Phool Devi Netam of Congress, Chhaya Verma, Ripun Bora, Rajamani Patel, Syed Nasir Hussain, Akhilesh Pratap Singh, Dola Sen, and Shanta Chhetri of Trinamool Congress, Priyanka Chaturvedi of Shiv Sena. and Anil Desai and Vinay Viswam of the Communist Party of India.

Most Popular Articles