31.7 C
Thursday, April 18, 2024

This team became the champion of Lanka Premier League 2021, know here

New Delhi: The 2021 season of the Lanka Premier League (LPL) played in Colombo and Hambantota, Sri Lanka has come to an end.

The final match of the second season of the Lanka Premier League was played on Thursday 23 December. Galle Gladiators faced Jaffna Kings in the final match, in which Jaffna’s team won. The first season of LPL was also won by Jaffna Kings.

In the final match of the Lanka Premier League 2021 played at the Mahinda Rajapaksa International Stadium in Hambantota, Jaffna Kings captain Thisara Perera won the toss and elected to bat.

Openers Avishka Fernando and Rahmanullah Gurbaz got Jaffna’s team off to a good start and both put on 56 runs for the first wicket in 5.2 overs. For Jaffna, Avishka scored 63 off 41 balls, Kohler Cadmore scored 57 off 41 balls, Gurbaz scored 35 off 15 balls and Shoaib Malik scored 23 runs in 11 balls.

In this way, Jaffna Kings scored a mountain-like score of 201 runs for the loss of 3 wickets in the stipulated 20 overs.

At the same time, in reply to 202 runs, Galle Gladiators could score 178 runs for the loss of 9 wickets after playing full over and lost the title match by 23 runs. Galle’s team got off to a good start, but the team did not get as much support from the middle order.

However, opener Danushka Gunathilaka scored 54 off 21 balls and Kusal Mendis scored 39 runs in 28 balls. Apart from these, no batsman could play big innings.

Let us tell you that this season of the Lanka Premier League started on 5 December. This time five teams took part in this tournament and till 23 December a total of 24 matches including the final were played.

Even in the league phase, Jaffna Kings won their 6 matches in 8 matches. At the same time, this time the worst performance was of Candy Warriors, who won only 2 matches in 8 matches.

Most Popular Articles