A new feature can take the guesswork out of assembly. Now you can find out when people arrive and when they go home.
If you’re getting together with family or friends this summer and want to know when everyone will arrive and go home, an update to Google Maps will help. The new location sharing feature in Google Maps alerts you to the whereabouts of people who are already sharing their location with you.
Google Maps’ new location sharing feature takes the guesswork out of when everyone will arrive by notifying you when a friend or family member has arrived or left a location if they’re already sharing their location with you. This can be useful if you have a teenager heading out of town, or if you want to let a friend know you’ve reached a meeting point.
We’ll explain how the new location sharing feature works, how to use it, and when it will be available.
How can you get notifications on Google Maps when friends arrive or leave a location?
Once the new feature is available in the Google Maps app on your iPhone or Android, select your profile icon and tap Share Location. From the list, select the person you want to request a location notification from – note that they must already share their location with you. Next, select Add to add an address to receive updates from your friend. Next, you choose the designated location and also when you want to be notified (arrival or departure) and then click Save.
The person you requested a location notification from will receive a notification that you have added the location. You will be notified when that person leaves or arrives at the designated location. For example, if your friend has come to meet you at the campsite, you will be notified and can look for him.
The person will also receive several reminders to let them know they’re sharing their location, including push notifications in the Maps app and email, along with recurring monthly emails.
Can I turn off this Maps feature if a friend asks to see when I’m arriving or leaving?
Yes. If you receive a notification that someone wants to be notified when you arrive or leave a location, you can turn it off. Start by clicking the notification on your phone’s lock screen. Next, turn off the Allow recipients to add notifications switch. Tap Turn Off to confirm.
You can also block someone’s notification settings entirely.
Once you do this, that person will no longer be able to add notifications to let them know when you arrive or leave a specific location. They also won’t get a notification that you’ve turned this feature off.
When can I start using the new location sharing feature in Google Maps?
Starting today, an update to Google Maps location sharing is available for Android and iOS users. If you don’t see it immediately, check that you have the latest version of the app. It may also take a few weeks before you see the new tool.
For more tips, check out six Google Maps tricks you can use this weekend. Here are also eight Google travel tips to help you plan your trip.
First published on July 27, 2022 at 12:02 am PT.
Technical services and software
3 new Google Maps features you’ll want to try
Plus, we’ll tell you six little-known features of Google Maps.
Google Maps has added a few new features to its app that you’ll be able to use on iOS and Android in the coming weeks. The latest update will be more useful in that it will give you the best route to take while traveling by bike and can also alert you when a friend or relative has arrived safely at a location.
Read on to find out what the latest features are, as well as six lesser-known features that we recommend you try to make it easier to get to your destination. For more information, discover the hidden tricks of Google Maps for travelers.
New: Get notifications on Google Maps when friends arrive or leave a location
Google has added a new feature to its Maps app that notifies you when a friend or relative arrives or leaves a specified location. For example, if you’re waiting for your friend to meet you at a concert, you can request a notification when they arrive at the venue. The person you’re requesting a notification for must first share their location with you; they will also be notified when you submit a request and may decline it.
To get started, select your profile icon and tap Share Location. From the list, select the person you want to request a location notification from. Next, select Add to add an address to receive updates from your friend. Next, you select the designated location and also when you want to be notified (arrival or departure) and click Save.
This feature is now available for Android and iPhone users.
New: Use immersive view to explore landmarks in aerial view
To kick off the launch of Google’s new Immersive View feature, it brings aerial views of nearly 100 landmarks in cities like Barcelona, London, New York, San Francisco and Tokyo. With this update, you can get a virtual view of structures like the Empire State Building. To see if the building is available, search for the landmark on Google Maps and go to the Photos section.
New: Get more detailed information about cycle routes
If you bike almost everywhere you go, you’ll soon be able to compare bike routes and decide where to go. You’ll also be able to see the elevation gain on the route, what the traffic is like and if there will be stairs or steep hills. The route will show whether you cycle on a main road or a local street.
Google said it will begin rolling out the new feature in the coming weeks in cities where bike lanes are available.
- Use Live View to guide you to your destination as you walk
When you park your car five blocks from your destination, it can be tricky trying to follow the little blue dot to figure out where you’re going. With Google’s Live View, you can see exactly where you’re going when you raise your phone screen.
This feature uses your camera to scan the buildings around you and places a giant arrow on the display to help you find the exact location you need to be. Here’s how to use it.
- In Google Maps, enter your destination and tap Directions.
- Select the Walk icon at the top of the map screen.
- At the bottom of the screen, tap the Live View button. It is located next to the Start button.
- Point the camera at buildings and signs on the street (note that you will need to allow the app to access the camera). When you start walking towards your destination, large arrows and the name of the street will appear on the screen to guide you.
- Download routes when you lose phone signal
It never fails. When you need directions the most, your phone loses signal. Fortunately, Google Maps lets you download a route ahead of time, so you’ll never have to worry about getting lost again. This trick is especially useful if you’re traveling in an area with poor cell phone coverage.