34.1 C
Friday, May 31, 2024

Presidential Innovation Award winners announced

Creative minds were honored at the sixth Presidential Innovation Awards April 24 in Taipei City for their cutting-edge solutions to problems in a broad range of fields.

The panel handed out group prizes to Hsinchu City-based E Ink Holdings, as well as the Taipei-based Bora Pharmaceuticals and Zeczec Co. Individual accolades went to Lin Burn-jeng, dean of the College of Semiconductor Research at northern Taiwan’s National Tsinghua University in Hsinchu, and Liu Keng-ming, founder and creative director of Taipei-based design firm Bito.

Speaking at the ceremony, President Tsai Ing-wen lauded recipients for fostering innovation in their respective fields. She described their efforts as a vital driver of the country’s economic and technological progress, and crucial for maintaining industry competitiveness.

E Ink, as a global pioneer of electronic paper, has facilitated the digital transition of retailers around the globe to the benefit of enterprises as well as the environmental cause, the president said. Bora Pharmaceuticals was honored for its capacity to service various customer needs even as it dedicates resources to developing new drugs. Tsai further recognized the valuable service the crowdfunding platform Zeczec provides to local cultural and creative industry startups in showcasing their products before a wide audience.

The president called the first individual recipient, Lin, a key figure in Taiwan’s rise to the top of the global semiconductor industry. She pointed out that the country’s capacity for creative design was also important to its ability to compete on the international stage, and recognized Liu for his work in that field.

Launched in 2014, the Presidential Innovation Award is organized by the Ministry of Economic Affairs with input from the Presidential Office. (POC-E)

Write to Taiwan Today at ttonline@mofa.gov.tw

from Taiwan Today – Top News

Most Popular Articles